Evening of Congress Ambassadors - "Congress Ambassador of Serbia" award ceremony

The Serbia Convention Bureau of the Tourist Organisation of Serbia celebrated 16 years of its work in the vibrant ambience of the newly renovated Sava Centar, the largest congress space in the Balkans. On this special occasion, the Bureau granted the esteemed "Congress Ambassador of Serbia" awards to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of congress tourism in Serbia. 

The awards were presented to prominent experts, whose dedication and professional reputation played a key role in attracting important international conferences to Serbia. These laureates demonstrated outstanding efforts throughout the years in cooperation with the Serbia Convention Bureau. This year, 12 new professionals received the title of "Congress Ambassador of Serbia", expanding the esteemed list to 81 congress ambassadors. 

Marija Labović and Dušan Borovčanin, representing the Tourist Organization of Serbia and the Serbia Convention Bureau, presided over the award ceremony and addressed the attendees by highlighting the remarkable achievements and excellent results in Serbia’s tourism sector in 2023, both in leisure and business travel and events segments. Kristina Milinčić, the director of the newly renovated Sava Center, extended a warm welcome to the guests on behalf of the hosts.

"By all indicators, this year will be a new record-breaking year for our tourism. We anticipate an 8% increase in foreign exchange inflow compared to the previous year, alongside a notable rise in tourist arrivals and overnight stays. We are particularly proud of 15% increase in overnight stays by foreign tourists, positioning Serbia at the forefront in terms of percentage growth in arrivals and stays", stated Marija Labović, Director of NTOS. 

"Here tonight with us are individuals who not only enhance Serbia’s reputation as a destination, because with their efforts, their commitment and dedication, they elevate that reputation day by day", said Dušan Borovčanin, former director of the Serbia Convention Bureau. 

The laureats of this year's prestigious "Congress Ambassador of Serbia" award were: 

  1. Prof. Dr. Dragica Pavlović Babić - President of the Association Association of Researchers in Education in Serbia 
  2. Kristina Penezić – BioSens Institute 
  3. Prof. Dr. Aleksandar P. Simić - Head of the Department of Surgery and Anesthesiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Belgrade 
  4. Prof. Dr. Tanja Ćirković Veličković - representative of the Serbian Chemical Society in the European Association of Chemical Societies  
  5. Asst. Dr. Danilo Jeremić - President of the Regional Medical Chamber of Belgrade 
  6. Milan Božić – General Secretary of the Ski Association of Serbia 
  7. Igor Končar – member of the European Association for Vascular Surgery 
  8. Tamara Jemcov – nephrologist, head of the Nephrology Department of KBC Zemun 
  9. Snežana Milutinović - Director of the Center for Applied Psychology of the Association of Serbian Psychologists 
  10. Prof. Dr. Tamara Džamonja Ignjatović - President of the Association of Psychologists of Serbia 
  11. Prof. Dr. Hadži Nebojša Pantelić - Police Colonel, President of the International Police Association of Serbia 
  12. Prof. Dr. Dejan Radenković - President of the Serbian Pancreatic Club and President of the Balkan Association for Liver, Pancreatic and Biliary Surgery